Day 26: A Day Off

Ahhh… A day off. I woke on my own, no alarm. I did a load of laundry. I spent a few hours (trying to) catch up on email. Failed. But I got through about 2/3 of what I needed to get through.

Then a nice dinner with another friend from high school. Another Jonathan! This is a trend. Anyway, my kids played with his kids, and he, his wife, and I had good conversations.

Then back to Jeff’s house, a couple of emails, writing this up, and to bed. For the first time on this trip, I took no photos today.

I’ve come to a realization that I can’t enjoy and internalize everything on this trip to its fullest because I don’t have any time to process what I can doing and seeing. I think I’ll be processing it all for a while to come.

Tomorrow we’ll fulfil my daughter’s dream of seeing the Lincoln Memorial. I’m looking forward to it as well, partly because Jeff is coming with us!

Drove: Around town.

State: Virginia.

Weather: Pretty decent! But that didn’t keep me from getting at least three new mosquito bites.

Kids: They benefited from the day off.

Best Part of the Day: Having nice conversation with a friend from high school!

Worst Parts of the Day: Still not getting caught up with email, despite the 2-3 hours I spent at it.

Total GeekDads and GeekMoms Visited: 8.

About Jenny Bristol

Jenny Bristol is a lifelong geek who spends her time learning, writing, homeschooling her two wickedly smart kids, playing board games, and mastering the art of traveling on a shoestring.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.