Day 28: Free Cookies

Our morning started out on schedule, but since Jeff went out all morning without us being able to say goodbye, we dawdled and ran to the grocery store to resupply our healthy food stock so we could see him one more time. So by the time we got on the road, it was almost noon. It was so great see Jeff, though. He was one of my best friends in high school, and we’ve kept in touch over the years. The letters he used to write me (yes, I said “letters”) made me laugh so much. And still, he is interesting and clever, and makes all the right geeky jokes (including plenty of references to Star Wars and They Might Be Giants). We even pretended we were in a Road Movie to Berlin. This all pleased me to no end.

Rather than take the usual Interstate route to Williamsburg, Jeff recommended a back road for one stretch that would be much more scenic. Since I’ve really enjoyed the back road driving I’ve done on this trip, I gave it a try. It was only supposed to take a little bit longer. Well, it would have only taken a little bit longer if I hadn’t skipped a crucial step in the directions. (Note to self: Write them down next time.) Instead, I got lost for a half hour, took many wrong turns, made several calls to my mom for directions, and had to pay a $2.75 toll to go one mile. But we finally found the proper road, and got to drive by farms (there was corn, but no not-corn), plantations, and beautiful forets instead of road, road, and more road.

We finally made it to Williamsburg. I can tell that they really cater to tourists, because the signage is fantastic. This wouldn’t even be worth a mention, except that we’ve experienced such bad and missing signage on this trip, and it’s a refreshing change to know where we are and where we are going! Our hotel is pretty good, though the room is a bit musty and there is no fridge. But the other amenities are fantastic so I’ll forgive them that, and they offer unlimited free cookies and apples!

The original plan when we arrived in the area was to head straight to Jamestown and do either Historic Jamestowne or the Jamestown Settlement, then check into the hotel later. But we got here so late, thanks to the detour and the getting lost and the late departure, that we just headed straight to the hotel and will make an early night of it. And since we didn’t actually do anything, I have no photos. Which also saves me time.

But for the next three days, we’ll experience Colonial Williamsburg to the fullest, and fit in Jamestown where we can.

Drove: 165ish miles.

State: Virginia.

Weather: Hot and muggy again.

Kids: The kids have actually fought much less and thrown fits much less frequently than they do at home. I guess this trip is good for them!

Best Part of the Day: The free cookies. The sugar ones are the best.

Worst Part of the Day: Getting lost, and losing time and money trying to get back on track.

Something I Learned a Week or Two Ago and Will Make Use of Today: Loose ice from a hotel ice machine will re-freeze icees. (This hotel room has no fridge.)

Total GeekDads and GeekMoms Visited: 9.

About Jenny Bristol

Jenny Bristol is a lifelong geek who spends her time learning, writing, homeschooling her two wickedly smart kids, playing board games, and mastering the art of traveling on a shoestring.
This entry was posted in Driving, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.